Book Publisher | Vasz Books

Christmas Past by Eniko Nyerges

In Author on December 18, 2014 at 6:02 am

Remembering Christmas by Eniko Nyerges

Author of Images of Faith

I remember the most beautiful Christmases we used to have as I was growing up in

White Christmas

White Christmas Europe

Europe. My grandma wasn’t rich yet she could make this holy day glow with a feeling
of reverence and pure joy. Once a year we had the privilege to voice our wishes. She
used to buy this midsize tree which scent filled the whole house. It was a time to
be busy plotting the big festive dinner, hold secrets from each other regarding the
gifts and find good hiding spots so no one would find the gift you intended to give
them. I loved and still love this holy day. I helped grandma with many things and
never was a burden for little as I was I knew that I had to help out for it was
impossible for her to do it all alone. We celebrated Christmas Eve with delicious
dinner, after worth we sang holy songs, than opening all our presents and crowning
the day with Midnight Mass. My wish, old as I am now, still is the same for Christmas
namely; to have snow. To me there is something so awesome to have a white
Christmas. To me it represents Baby Jesus’ purity. Yes, it was hard to stay up till
midnight for Mass, but there was something so profound and enchanting about that
night, that I would never have exchanged it with any riches in the world. The sky
usually was full of stars and the air was crispy clean. To hear your own footsteps
crunching the snow was awesome. On the streets peace and profound quiet was
reigning, occasionally a dog’s barking would break that silence as we walked home.
We felt so holy, and so cold in the chilly weather. After going home we went to bed
content in every way knowing that we welcomed Baby Jesus in our hearts and homes.
Our sleep was most sweet that night. Next morning everyone looked over their gifts
and we had a light lunch. Afterwards we went to exchange gifts with our relatives.
Our Christmases were very simple and very moving. Baby Jesus was our focus and as
kids we tried to be truly the best we could be to our parents. Oh, blessed Christmas
how beautiful and sacred you are! Come Lord Jesus take up your home in our hearts. We love you.

This is a personal story of Eniko Nyerges, remembering her time in Europe during the Christmas season.

Leave a comment